Home About Us BPW-Iowa Executive Committee Officers

BPW-Iowa Executive Committee

The Executive Committee for the Business and Professional Women of Iowa guides and directs nine local organizations and the members at large who comprise the state organization. The officers are the face of the BPW Iowa organization that helps so many  women develop leadership skills, advance their careers, and that advocates for working women at the state level. Read their biographies on the page below.

President:  Lynette Fitzgerald 


Lynette has been a member of the Cedar Falls BPW since 2010 and she has served as secretary for her local.  Since 2014, she has served as BPW Iowa Vice President and President Elect. Lynette is a Financial Advisor at Financial Decisions Group in Waterloo.  She has been in the Financial Industry since 1989.  Lynette is a former member of the Waterloo Exchange Club; Secretary of Heartland District Exchange Club, board member and secretary of Community Assistance Aids Program,  member of National Organization for Women and an accounting tutor at Hawkeye Community College.  Lynette enjoys sewing, bicycling, and spending time with family and friends.

Vice President:  Cathy Hines


Cathy was a member of BPW Iowa for 12 years prior to accepting an out of state job transfer in 1991.  She retired after a total of 36 years of experience in telecommunications management in a variety of roles including operations, training, client relations, etc.  Some of Cathy’s certifications include training delivery, meeting facilitation, team building, and quality curriculum.  She rejoined BPW in 2011.  Over the span of her 18 years with BPW Iowa, Cathy has served as Waterloo President (twice), District Parliamentarian, State IDP Chairperson, BPW Iowa Foundation Secretary, State Recording Secretary (twice) and BPW Iowa Newsletter Editor.  Her interests are varied and include her dog, Zoey; UNI women’s athletics; crafts; Women in Philanthropy; mentoring and beachfront vacationing.

Secretary: Susan Foster


Susan joined BPW in November 1985 as a member of the Shenandoah LO.  She has served as secretary, vice president and president of both the Shenandoah and Red Oak local organizations. Susan served as BPW Iowa Public Policy Chair 2012-2014, BPW Iowa Secretary 2015-2016 and BPW Iowa Vice President 2016-2017.  She has also twice been a member of BPW Iowa Foundation board of directors.  Susan appreciates the way BPW members continue to encourage her personal and professional development.

Treasurer:  Kristie Konz


Kristie has been BPW Iowa Treasurer for eight years.  She has been a member of BPW since 2000 and held all offices at the local level and was also the secretary/treasurer for the Southwestern Region for four years.  She has witnessed many changes and revisions during her time with the organization.  Married to her husband, Bill, for forty-two years, they have three grown children and are blessed with 10 grandchildren.  Kristie  retired in June 2014 from twenty-five years of service with UPS and now has more time for their small farming operation. In her spare time, she enjoys reading, golfing and attending the grandchildren’s activities.